The buildings in the historic centre are the parts of the Town Monument Reserve.
The pride of Banská Bystrica is its central Námestie SNP square rebuilt into a throbbing pedestrian zone with an original charm and atmosphere. The multicoloured area of the square can be best admired from the slender Hodinová veža tower (The Clock Tower). It was built in 1552 as part of the town prison. The most beautiful building of the southern row of the square is Thurzov dom (Thurzos House). Today Thurzos House is the seat of Stredoslovenské múzeum (Museum of Middle Slovakia).
Several old buildings on the Námestie Štefana Moyzesa square formed once the town castle. The original appearance of the castle disappeared by removal of a substantial part of town walls. Only a quarter of the original town walls and three bastions of the original four survive.
The dominant architecture of the square is now the former Barbican with a tower. The parish church of the Virgin Mary was started as early as 1255. In the interior, apart from other gems, the Late Gothic wing altar of St. Barbara from 1509 fashioned in the workshop of Majster Pavol of Levoča can be admired.
Another castle church consecrated to the Holy Cross was built next to the northern walls of castle fortifications in 1492. The Late Gothic Matejov dom house was built in 1479 as a slender five-storied house squeezed inside the Banícka bastion. The building of Stará radnica (Old Town Hall) with a tower also called Praetorium was built in 1500.
A historical train called Pretórium shuttles downtown – it is an ideal way how the visitors can view the historical sights of the town.
Foto: visitbanskabystrica.sk ; banskabystrica.sk ; e-obce.sk